Schoolyard Habitat

Schoolyard Habitat Program

The Schoolyard Habitat Program provides supplemental, standard-based science curriculum for elementary and middle schools. This three-year partnership program seeks to inspire and educate students by creating an outdoor classroom within a native garden at each partner school. Students enhance their understanding of scientific concepts by exploring and observing during the hands-on lessons and teachers are provided with professional development to gain the skills needed to make the program their own.

Program Objectives

  1. Create native gardens for schools to use as outdoor classrooms
  2. Provide a standard-based curriculum that encourages experiential learning
  3. Increase understanding of science and ecological concepts
  4. Generate a sense of stewardship within students, families, and community

Help Support Our Habitat Program

The Highlands Center is excited to bring this program to our next partner school, Liberty Traditional Elementary School!

The Schoolyard Habitat program is supported each year by members and friends of the Highlands Center along with families and friends of our local elementary schools through the Arizona Tax Credit program.

Thank you for your generous tax donations to Liberty Traditional Elementary School. The Tax donation form be found in the links below.

Liberty Traditional 2017 Tax Credit Letter
Liberty Traditional 2017 Tax Credit Form 

Want to be our next partner school?

Applications are now being accepted for our 2019-2022 Schoolyard Habitat Program! Email a completed application to our Schoolyard Habitat Coordinator, Jo Wurst, by March 19th, 2018. The selected applicant will be announced in May 2018.

Barren land before a schoolyard habitat garden was built

Habitat Schools To Date

    • Liberty Traditional School
      Prescott Valley, 2018-2020
    • Mountain Oak Charter School:
      Prescott, 2017-2019
    • Abia Judd Elementary
      Prescott: 2016-2018
    • Glassford Hill Middle School
      Prescott Valley: 2015-2017
    • Lake Valley Elementary
      Prescott Valley: 2014-2016
    • Mountain View Elementary
      Prescott Valley: 2013-2015
    • Lincoln Elementary
      Prescott: 2012-2014
    • Granville Elementary
      Prescott Valley: 2011-2013
    • Washington Traditional Elementary
      Prescott:  2009-2011
    • Miller Valley Elementary
      Prescott: 2008-2012
    • Territorial Elementary
      Chino Valley: 2007-2009
    • Coyote Springs
      Prescott Valley: 2006 – 2008
Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates!

You have Successfully Subscribed!